College Football Champion Odds 2016




Ohio State 5/1
TCU 15/2
Alabama 10/1
Oregon 14/1
Auburn 16/1
Baylor 16/1
Florida State 16/1
LSU 16/1
Michigan State 16/1
Notre Dame 20/1
USC 20/1
Oklahoma 25/1
Mississippi State 28/1
Clemson 33/1
Florida 33/1
Georgia 33/1
Stanford 33/1
Texas A&M 33/1
UCLA 33/1
Wisconsin 33/1
Arizona 40/1
Arizona State 40/1
Boise State 40/1
Mississippi 40/1
Arkansas 50/1
Georgia Tech 50/1
Kansas State 50/1
Louisville 50/1
Missouri 50/1
Nebraska 50/1
Oklahoma State 50/1
South Carolina 50/1
Texas 50/1
Tennessee 66/1
Miami 75/1
Michigan 75/1
Penn State 75/1
Utah 75/1
Washington 75/1
West Virginia 75/1
BYU 100/1
California 100/1
Cincinnati 100/1
Duke 100/1
Iowa 100/1
Marshall 100/1
Maryland 100/1
North Carolina 100/1
Oregon State 100/1
Pittsburgh 100/1
Rutgers 100/1
Virginia Tech 100/1
Boston College 200/1
Northwestern 200/1
South Florida 200/1
Texas Tech 200/1
UCF 200/1



College Football National Championship Odds

The lack of a playoff system in college football can lead to some controversial decisions when the participants of the BCS Championship game are selected each winter. This controversy can make or break certain wagers that are a part of the BCS Championship betting pool.

The early odds are often slanted towards the traditional schools that have fared well in the prior year. While there are many transactions in pro sports in the offseason, there is very little movement in college football odds. With the exception of a few underclassmen declaring for the NFL Draft, and Heisman Trophy contenders moving on, the rosters for the upcoming season are well known at the end of the prior season. Seniors are replaced by freshmen every year on college football rosters in a never ending cycle. The ability of coaches to recruit new talent each season is a critical part of a program’s success and perceived value among bettors.


A unique BCS Championship Betting pool

The BCS Odds pool is a little different than a Super Bowl Odds or World Series Odds pool. While there are 120 teams at the FBS level that could potentially win a College Football Championship each season, only a couple of dozen are really in the hunt by the middle of the college season. First, schools from small conferences aren’t guaranteed a spot in one of the five major BCS bowl games. Second, any team with more than two losses has no chance at a championship and a two-loss team needs a lot of help to have a shot. So, many teams are quickly knocked out of the pool at various points during the year. Most pools will begin with about 40 teams from BCS conferences and a few elite teams from non-BCS conferences. A field wager would cover any school that would not be represented in the pool. It is rare for any long shot to break through and win the BCS pool.


Games still dominate college football wagering

Even though the NCAA has taken a strong position against betting on their sports, there is little doubt that some of the popularity of college football is tied to individual game wagers. On each fall Saturday, bettors can watch several high-profile matchups on television with a wager in hand on the point spread outcome of the game. The bettor will know the outcome of a game wager in three hours. On the other hand, the bettor may have to wait several months to cash in on a BCS betting odds wager. Therefore, the College Football Championship odds can get overlooked when compared to the instant excitement that games can provide every Saturday during the season.

List of College Football National Champions


2012 Alabama BCS
2011 Alabama BCS
2010 Auburn BCS
2009 Alabama BCS
2008 Florida BCS
2007 Louisiana State BCS
2006 Florida BCS
2005 Texas BCS
2004 Southern California BCS
2003 Louisiana State, Southern California BCS, AP, FWAA
2002 Ohio State BCS
2001 Miami (Fla.) BCS
2000 Oklahoma BCS
1999 Florida State BCS
1998 Tennessee BCS
1997 Michigan, Nebraska AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/ESPN
1996 Florida AP, FWAA, NFF,USA/CNN
1995 Nebraska AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1994 Nebraska AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1993 Florida St. AP, FWAA,NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1992 Alabama AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1991 Washington, Miami (Fla.) FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI,AP
1990 Colorado, Georgia Tech FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, AP, UPI
1989 Miami (Fla.) AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1988 Notre Dame AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1987 Miami (Fla.) AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1986 Penn St. AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1985 Oklahoma AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1984 Brigham Young AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1983 Miami (Fla.) AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1982 Penn St. AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1981 Clemson AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1980 Georgia AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1979 Alabama AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1978 Alabama, Southern California AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1977 Notre Dame AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1976 Pittsburgh AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1975 Oklahoma AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1974 Southern California, Oklahoma FWAA, NFF, UPI, AP
1973 Notre Dame, Alabama AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1972 Southern California AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1971 Nebraska AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1970 Nebraska, Texas, Ohio St. AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI, NFF
1969 Texas AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1968 Ohio St. AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1967 Southern California AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1966 Notre Dame, Michigan St. AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI, NFF
1965 Michigan St., Alabama FWAA, NFF, UPI, AP
1964 Alabama, Arkansas, Notre Dame AP, UPI, FWAA, NFF
1963 Texas AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1962 Southern California AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1961 Alabama, Ohio St. AP, NFF, UPI, FWAA
1960 Minnesota, Mississippi AP, NFF, UPI, FWAA
1959 Syracuse AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1958 LSU, Iowa AP, UPI, FWAA
1957 Ohio St., Auburn FWAA, UPI, AP
1956 Oklahoma AP, FWAA, UPI
1955 Oklahoma AP, FWAA, UPI
1954 UCLA, Ohio St. FWAA, UPI, AP
1953 Maryland AP, UPI
1952 Michigan St. AP, UPI
1951 Tennessee AP, UPI
1950 Oklahoma AP, UPI
1949 Notre Dame AP
1948 Michigan AP
1947 Notre Dame AP
1946 Notre Dame AP
1945 Army AP
1944 Army AP
1943 Notre Dame AP
1942 Ohio St. AP
1941 Minnesota AP
1940 Minnesota AP
1939 Texas A&M AP
1938 Texas Christian AP
1937 Pittsburgh AP
1936 Minnesota AP
1935 Minnesota CFRA, HAF, NCF
1934 Minnesota CFRA, HAF, NCF
1933 Michigan CFRA, HAF, NCF
1932 Southern California CFRA, HAF, NCF
1931 Southern California CFRA, HAF, NCF
1930 Alabama, Notre Dame CFRA, HAF, NCF
1929 Notre Dame CFRA, HAF, NCF
1928 Georgia Tech. CFRA, HAF, NCF
1927 Illinois, Yale HAF, NCF, CFRA
1926 Alabama, Stanford CFRA, HAF, NCF, HAF
1925 Alabama CFRA, HAF, NCF
1924 Notre Dame CFRA, HAF, NCF
1923 Illinois, Michigan CFRA, HAF, NCF, NCF
1922 California, Cornell Princeton, NCF, HAF, CFRA, NCF
1921 California, Cornell CFRA, NCF, HAF
1920 California CFRA, HAF, NCF
1919 Harvard, Illinois, Notre Dame, Texas A&M CFRA, HAF, NCF, CFRA, NCF, NCF
1918 Michigan, Pittsburg NCF, HAF, NCF
1917 Georgia Tech. HAF, NCF
1916 Pittsburgh HAF, NCF
1915 Cornell HAF, NCF
1914 Army HAF, NCF
1913 Harvard HAF, NCF
1912 Harvard, Penn St. HAF, NCF, NCF
1911 Penn St., Princeton NCF, HAF, NCF
1910 Harvard, Pittsburgh HAF, NCF, NCF
1909 Yale HAF, NCF
1908 LSU, Pennsylvania NCF, HAF, NCF
1907 Yale HAF, NCF
1906 Princeton HAF, NCF
1905 Chicago HAF, NCF
1904 Michigan, Pennsylvania NCF, HAF, NCF
1903 Michigan, Princeton NCF, HAF, NCF
1902 Michigan HAF, NCF
1901 Michigan HAF, NCF
1900 Yale HAF, NCF
1899 Harvard HAF, NCF
1898 Harvard HAF, NCF
1897 Pennsylvania HAF, NCF
1896 Lafayette, Princeton NCF, HAF, NCF
1895 Pennsylvania HAF, NCF
1894 Yale HAF, NCF
1893 Princeton HAF, NCF
1892 Yale HAF, NCF
1891 Yale HAF, NCF
1890 Harvard HAF, NCF
1889 Princeton HAF, NCF
1888 Yale HAF, NCF
1887 Yale HAF, NCF
1886 Yale HAF, NCF
1885 Princeton HAF, NCF
1884 Yale HAF, NCF
1883 Yale HAF, NCF
1882 Yale NCF,1881, Yale,NCF
1880 Princeton, Yale NCF, NCF
1879 Princeton NCF
1878 Princeton NCF
1877 Yale NCF
1876 Yale NCF
1875 Harvard NCF
1874 Yale NCF
1873 Princeton NCF
1872 Princeton NCF
1871 None selected NCF
1870 Princeton NCF
1869 Princeton NCF