Last Updated on

When thinking about a new College Football season, it doesn’t take too long before we arrive at the question of who will win Heisman Trophy. The top individual prize in college football that every player vies for before they ascend to the NFL.

In the College Football betting landscape, Clemson and Alabama are once again the cream of the crop, compared to the rest of the field. The perennial favorites for the National Championship for the past 5-10 years, including the 2019-2020 season.

The Clemson and Alabama quarterbacks are also the top favorites for the most illustrious award in the sport, Trevor Lawrence and Tua Tagovailoa, respectively.

Latest Heisman Trophy Odds

FanDuel Sportsbook recently released their odds for the Heisman Trophy favorites:

Trevor Lawrence +175
Tua Tagovailoa +225
Jalen Hurts +1400
Justin Fields +1400
Jake Fromm +1800
Jonathan Taylor +1800
Adrian Martinez +2000
D’Andre Swift +2200
Travis Etienne +2200
Justin Herbert +2500
Sam Ehlinger +2800
Ian Book +4000
Jerry Jeudy +4000
Shea Patterson +4000
Najee Harris +4000
Tee Higgins +5000
K.J. Costello +6000
Rondale Moore +6000
Khalil Tate +6000
J.K Dobbins +6000
Tate Martell +6000
AJ Dillon +6000
JT Daniels +6600
Jacob Eason +6600
Austin Kendall +8000
Kelly Bryant +8000
Eno Benjamin +8000
Brandon Wimbush +8000
Kellen Mond +10000
Alan Bowman +10000

While Lawrence and Tagovailoa are the top favorites, it’s clear Lawrence is the runaway favorite, at +200 compared to Tagovailoa at +350.

That’s with good reason, though. Lawrence, as a true freshman, threw for nearly 3300 yards, 30 touchdowns and just a mere four interceptions (including bowl games). Trevor completed nearly 66 percent of his throws in what was an absolute demolition of a National Championship game that saw Clemson beat Alabama 44-16.

With that said, Tagovailoa isn’t totally out of the hunt, either. Remember, he threw for nearly 4000 yards, 43 touchdowns and six interceptions (including bowl games).

Tagovailoa, had an additional five touchdowns on the ground.

Heisman Value With Justin Herbert or Jalen Hurts?

Justin Herbert at 20/1 is intriguing, but he took a bit of a step back last season. This year, however, he’ll look to improve on his stock with Oregon as he’ll go on to the NFL after this season.

With all of that said, the dark horse in all of this is Jalen Hurts at 20/1. Now the quarterback for Oklahoma, Hurts was supplanted from his role as Alabama’s starter by Tagovailoa.

Hurts is entering a program that has had back-to-back Heisman winners in Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray. Head coach Lincoln Riley has a wonderful spread system that could really assist in help Hurts flourish. That, coupled with what has to be considered a revenge factor, Hurts could ball out no problem in 2019 and steal the honors.

When it comes down to it, Lawrence is the guy to beat here. Doing what he did as a true freshman, including against an Alabama team that allowed less than 180 passing yards to opposing quarterbacks is something otherworldly. He’ll only improve on that and it would not be at all surprising to see him smash a bunch of records.

Prediction: Trevor Lawrence (2/1), followed by Tua Tagovailoa (7/2) and Jalen Hurts (20/1).


2018Kyler MurrayOklahoma
2017Baker MayfieldOklahoma
2016Lamar JacksonLouisville
2015Derrick HenryAlabama
2014Marcus MariotaOregon
2013Jameis WinstonFlorida State
2012Johnny ManzielTexas A&M
2011Robert Griffin IIIBaylor
2010Cam NewtonAuburn
2009Mark IngramAlabama
2008Sam BradfordOklahoma
2007Tim TebowFlorida
2006Troy SmithOhio State
2005Reggie BushUSC
2004Matt LeinartUSC
2003Jason WhiteOklahoma
2002Carson PalmerUSC
2001Eric CrouchNebraska
2000Chris WeinkeFlorida State
1999Ron DayneWisconsin
1998Ricky WilliamsTexas
1997Charles WoodsonMichigan
1996Danny WuerffelFlorida
1995Eddie GeorgeOhio State
1994Rashaan SalaamColorado
1993Charlie WardFlorida State
1992Gino TorrettaMiami (FL)
1991Desmond HowardMichigan
1990Ty DetmerBYU
1989Andre WareHouston
1988Barry SandersOklahoma State
1987Tim BrownNotre Dame
1986Vinny TestaverdeMiami (FL)
1985Bo JacksonAuburn
1984Doug FlutieBoston College
1983Mike RozierNebraska
1982Herschel WalkerGeorgia
1981Marcus AllenUSC
1980George RogersSouth Carolina
1979Charles WhiteUSC
1978Billy SimsOklahoma
1977Earl CampbellTexas
1976Tony DorsettPittsburgh
1975Archie GriffinOhio State
1974Archie GriffinOhio State
1973John CappellettiPenn State
1972Johnny RodgersNebraska
1971Pat SullivanAuburn
1970Jim PlunkettStanford
1969Steve OwensOklahoma
1968O.J. SimpsonUSC
1967Gary BebanUCLA
1966Steve SpurrierFlorida
1965Mike GarrettUSC
1964John HuarteNotre Dame
1963Roger StaubachNavy
1962Terry BakerOregon State
1961Ernie DavisSyracuse
1960Joe BellinoNavy
1959Billy CannonLSU
1958Pete DawkinsArmy
1957John David CrowTexas A&M
1956Paul HornungNotre Dame
1955Howard CassadyOhio State
1954Alan AmecheWisconsin
1953John LattnerNotre Dame
1952Billy VesselsOklahoma
1951Dick KazmaierPrinceton
1950Vic JanowiczOhio State
1949Leon HartNotre Dame
1948Doak WalkerSMU
1947John LujackNotre Dame
1946Glenn DavisArmy
1945Doc BlanchardArmy
1944Les HorvathOhio State
1943Angelo BertelliNotre Dame
1942Frank SinkwichGeorgia
1941Bruce SmithMinnesota
1940Tom HarmonMichigan
1939Nile KinnickIowa
1938Davey O’BrienTCU
1937Clint FrankYale
1936Larry KelleyYale
1935Jay BerwangerChicago